• In the News

‘The Look of Silence’ Has Been Awarded the DOX:AWARD at the Prestigious CPH:DOX

The Look of Silence wins top prize at CPH:DOX

Screen International  – November 14, 2014

By Wendy Mitchell


Winners also include E-Team and Olmo & The Seagull. The winners were announced at CPH:DOX tonight in Copenhagen’s lavish Hotel D’Angleterre hotel, followed by a party at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts. The top prize, the DOX:AWARD, went to Joshua Oppenheimer’s lauded The Look of Silence, his follow-up film to Bafta winner and Oscar nominee The Act of Killing.

The jury for that ward included David Wilson, Laurence Reymond, Kidlat Thaimik, Lilibeth Cuenca and Nelly Ben Hayoun. They gave a special mention to Democrats by Camilla Nielsson.

The other prizes were:

NORDIC:DOX: Olmo & the Seagull by Lea Glob & Petra Costa
Special Mention to: In the country by Anders Jedenfors

FACT: E-Team by Katy Chevigny & Ross Kaufmann
Special Mention to: Virunga by Orlando Von Einsiedel

NEW:VISION: The Dent by Basim Magdy
Politiken Audience Award: Just Eat It: A Food Waste Story by Grant Baldwin

Reel Talent Award
Shared by Lea Glob and Camilla Nielsson

The festival’s screenings and events continue until Sunday. The festival, now in its 12th year, has welcomed guests including Oppenheimer (a Copenhagen resident), Nick Broomfield, Laura Poitras, Keren Cytter, Kim Longinotto, Robert Greene, Pedro Costa, Hubert Sauper, Mike Skinner and Jacob Appelbaum. The event screened more than 200 films.