• In the News

Sundance U.S. Doc Jury includes Diane Weyermann and PM Filmmakers Guggenheim and Morgen

Park City, UT — Sundance Institute announced today 19 members of five juries awarding prizes at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival, January 17-27 in Park City, Salt Lake City, Ogden and Sundance, Utah. Short Film Awards will be announced at a ceremony on January 22 at Park City’s Jupiter Bowl, with feature film awards announced at a separate ceremony on January 26. Members of the Alfred P. Sloan Jury will be announced in January.


Davis Guggenheim

Davis Guggenheim is a critically acclaimed, Academy Award® winning director and producer whose work includes Waiting for “Superman”, It Might Get Loud, the 2009 documentary featuring Jimmy Page, The Edge and Jack White, and An Inconvenient Truth, featuring former Vice President Al Gore, which won the Oscar for Best Documentary in 2007. In 2008, Davis produced and directed President Barack Obama’s biographical film A Mother’s Promise, and most recently, The Road We’ve Travelled, a short film for Obama’s 2012 campaign. Davis has also directed many television series includingD eadwood, NYPD Blue and 24.

Diane Weyermann 

Diane Weyermann is Participant Media’s Executive Vice President, Documentary Films, where she oversees such current projects as A Place At the Table and State 194, and earlier releases such as An Inconvenient Truth, Food, Inc., and Waiting for “Superman”. In 1996, she launched the Soros Documentary Fund, which later became the Sundance Institute Documentary Film Program and Fund. Prior to working at Participant Media, Diane was the Director of the Sundance Institute’s Documentary Film Program and Fund, where she was responsible for the Fund, two annual documentary film labs and worked closely with the Sundance Film Festival programming team on world documentaries.

See the full article here.